Log in



Search By Name for the Fallen of WW1

The Victoria Cross

The Victoria Cross (VC) is the highest award of the United Kingdom honours system. It was instituted by Queen Victoria on 29 Jan 1856. It is awarded for gallantry "in the face of the enemy" to members of the British armed forces

Victoria Cross

NNWFHS Area Recipients of the Victoria Cross

The Distinguished Service Order

The Distinguished Service Order (DSO) was instituted by Queen Victorua on 6 September 1886. It is typically awarded to officers ranked major (or its equivalent) or higher, but the honour has sometimes been awarded to especially valorous junior officers.


The Distinguished Conduct Medal

The Distinguished Conduct Medal (DCM) was awarded to "other ranks" for gallantry in the field in the face of the enemy. It was instituted by Queen Victoria on 4th December 1854.


The Military Cross

The MC is granted in recognition of "an act or acts of exemplary gallantry during active operations against the enemy on land to all members, of any rank in Our Armed Forces"

Military Cross

NNWFHS Area Recipients of the Military Cross

The Distinguished Flying Medal

The Distinguished Flying Medal (DCM) was awarded to personnel of the Royal Air Force below commissioned rank, for "an act or acts of valour, courage or devotion to duty whilst flying in active operations against the enemy".


NNWFHS Area Recipients of the Distinguished Flying Medal

The Croix de Guerre

The Croix de Guerre is a French Medal may either be awarded as an individual or unit award to those soldiers who distinguish themselves by acts of heroism involving combat with the enemy.

Croix de Guerre

NNWFHS Area Recipients of the Croix de Guerre

The Military Medal

The Military Medal (MM) was established on 25 March 1916 and was the other ranks' equivalent to the Military Cross (MC), The MM ranked below the Distinguished Conduct Medal (DCM).

Military Medal

The Meritorious Service Medal

The Meritorious Service Medal (MSM) is a silver medal for distinguished service, or for gallantry, principally by non-commissioned officers of all of the British armed forces and of Queen Alexandra's Royal Naval Nursing Service.


Mentioned in Dispatches

Soldiers of the British Empire or the Commonwealth of Nations who are Mentioned in Dispatches (MiD) but do not receive a medal for their action, are nonetheless entitled to receive a certificate and wear a decoration.


NNWFHS Meetings & Events

NNWFHS Calendar

Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa

NNWFHS Website Awards

GRA 2014 Highly Commended

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of this site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

  I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive Module Information